MacDonald450

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • LocationCape Breton,

Posted 25 August 2016 - 12:53 PM

Hey guys,

Need your fellows help with picking out a muzzleloader for myself. I'm completely new to it. I had no intentions in buying one for this year after I bought a new Hoyt bow but here I am. A separated shoulder after a dirt bike crash says I won't be shooting too many arrows this year. So I'm looking at purchasing a muzzleloader and still be able to enjoy some of the early deer season. I'd spend up to about $600 give or take on one, but nothing too crazy. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

#2 ALW

ALW

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • LocationTruro

Posted 25 August 2016 - 01:17 PM

You will no doubt get lots of opinions... mine included... but I'd encourage you to shoulder any you are considering to see how they fit before buying one.

I have a CVA Optima V2 .50cal in stainless and black synthetic, my son has a CVA Wolf .50cal in stainless and black synthetic. Both are amazingly accurate, and reasonably priced. We love them both. The Wolf is a couple inches shorter, but that doesn't seem to affect accuracy any compared to my Optima's longer barrel. If I were buying my first muzzy I think I'd go with the Wolf, and put the money saved into accessories and bullets/sabots/powder.

I would encourage you to consider stainless over blued, due to how dirty muzzleloaders are compared to smokeless. Another reason I like the Wolf is that you can order after market wood or wood composite stocks thru Boyd's Stocks. The only thing I don't like about our CVA's are the synthetic stocks, they work fine but I far prefer wood personally. I think a stainless CVA with a salt & pepper laminate Boyd's stock would be sweet. So far though they are only offering stocks for the Wolf.