#1 hityad

hityad

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationHalifax, NS

Posted 26 April 2020 - 10:37 AM

Hi, 

I am a novice reloader and have no knowledge in casting my bullets. I was not going to step into the field of casting but I recently found out about the subsonic reloads in 44 Magnum in a rifle and really want to develop a load for my Henry Big Boy carbine. Wondering if anyone here casting bullets and might want to help out, I will pay any expense that may occur.  

Here is link to the video of what I am hoping to achieve: 

https://www.youtube....7aftiAAOoNHlZDE

#2 3macs1

3macs1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10056 posts
  • LocationCape Breton

Posted 26 April 2020 - 11:04 AM

There is at least one member here that is into this big time and hopefully he will chime in

take care

#3 superslickie

superslickie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1737 posts
  • Locationmt uniacke

Posted 26 April 2020 - 02:07 PM

I cast for 44
I use cast in the muzzle loader with a 44to50 sabot
I also load up for the annual Stanley event (200+/- rounds per year)

I have 240gr SWC and a 300gr sworn

If you are close to hrm and you want to learn how to, we can do it with distance rules. I cast out in the barn using a propane burner, no electric pot

Once I get started I usually cast 100 - 200 in a session to try to get a surplus situation going.

Once cast they are coated with liquid alox and left to dry overnight, then the reload process begins. I've got a great light load worked up for my nef single shot rifle that allows every person to shoot it comfortably.
If you are totally new to reloading, find the fb group Canadian reloading room. Lots of knowledge and resources and people will help you
can i go hunting yet??

#4 superslickie

superslickie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1737 posts
  • Locationmt uniacke

Posted 27 April 2020 - 07:20 AM

Joe I was thinking that you were referring to me lol