Nova Scotia Hunting Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

So it's my first time my friend and I are planning on doing some hunting this year, looking to do mostly bear and deer. We have 2 locations potentially picked out but we're wondering how others choose there locations?
We tried to find signs of bears around lately but haven't been having much luck. We were thinking to do mostly stalk hunting also but is it worth it or should we just bait?

Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
2,955 Posts
put the time in doing scouting - doesnt matter what youre hunting, all critters need to eat. Find food sources & find the trails to/from those food sources.

most hunters bait both bear & deer however there's more to it than just dumping bait in the woods any old place.
you'll have better opportunity if you set up your bait in areas where the critters are living, travelling, bedding, etc.
it sounds simple enough - yet lots get frustrated because theyre simply not hunting in the right place.

Knowing the critters AND knowing the area and how they use it will bring the most opportunities.

best of luck to you and your bud.

·
Registered
7,452 Posts
Where do you plan to hunt- general area
Bears are on the increase but still lots of places without bears depending on the part of the province Most areas have deer. As stated above do lots of scouting may be tough right now with things so dry if your not experienced but if it rains a good amount then sign will be easier to find. Best bet is to talk with the locals and other hunters in the areas you intend to hunt most will be happy to give advice especially farmers having problems with wildlife. Also help you to know where others hunt in that area so you don’t interfere with the other hunters in the area.

Reactions: Hunterdog01

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Where do you plan to hunt- general area