Nova Scotia Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

· Registered
2,973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a 4440 years ago and am only just getting around to reloading some test loads.

5.2gr bullseye, 200gr xtp, federal brass
Ive got the 4 die setup and can get everything done fine until it comes to seating the bullet, the expander doesnt go deep enough to allow the bullet to seat fully before crushing the cases. The expander goes all the way in to the stop but only expands for 1/8 inch, ive taken the die apart to check for issues and found nothing.
This is my first time reloading for this cartridge but ive been reloading for over 20years.

What am i missing? I had 36 1x brass and am now down to 20 trying things on my own. I cant afford factory stuff at $2+/round

· GREYBEARD
3,399 Posts
Not sure what the issue is, I have never reloaded 44-40.
I do know that the brass is easy to crush because it is relatively thin.
Did you measure your bullets to confirm they measure .427.
44 special or 44 rem. mag bullets measure .430
44 XTP bullet sounds like a 44 rem mag bullet to me.
A soft cast 44 that measures .430 bullet could likely work.
Hopefully someone like bullet caster that knows more than me will chime in.

· Registered
2,973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Projectiles .429
The case expander should open the neck to .430
4440 rifles can be anywhere from .427-.432
Ill be making a cast of the chamber and bore this afternoon to confirm numbers

Ive been told the lee expander dies run more to the .427 than larger but they can be swapped easily if i can get the part out of the states
Ill keep ya posted

· Registered
2,490 Posts
Tim . just wondering what the fourth die is for as most sets come with 3 dies . a deprime/resize ,an expander and a bullet seating die .

· Registered
2,490 Posts
Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner, the guys are correct, its a crimp die